A race in Kona

A board for discussing the latest race events.

A race in Kona

Postby Martin » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:59 am

Finding myself on the road to Kona I am learning a lot of new ideas and stuff. I want to get them written down someway and see if I share them I will do a better job of making sense!

I have never written a blog before...about anything...so I am not sure how this will go.

Yeah, feel free to add stuff if you want.

Today is 50 days out...

Martin
Martin
User

Postby Martin » Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:22 pm

Deciding to do my first ironman this year was daunting but made easier by: lots of support and a great recovery from an achilles injury more than 18 months ago; having watched many go before hand and watching them return (Stoney, Steve H, Brad, Charles to name a few); and being keen to see if I could get it done.

Busselton IM was the best introduction to IM possible with: family behind me; manager guidance (Wendy); keen training partner (Nev); a new coach (Bruce Thomas), no injury, a flat course, and great weather.

Port IM was a good follow up IM with all of the above except a harder course but a course that I knew well.

My results showed some strengths and many weakenesses and as luck had it all the guys in front of me were not taking up their slots to Kona which left me rushing to decide was Kona something that I was prepared for. No, I wasn't prepared, but put my money down anyway, dizzy at what I had chosen and feeling sick at the commitment. Isn't Kona that race for pro's in all the magazines and great age groupers? We'll see...
Martin
User

Postby Martin » Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:10 pm